Relics Hall
Introdution to Relics Hall

The semicircular Relics Hall spans 63m at a height of 19m and covers a total building area of 7,588m2. A continuous spatial change is formed when the extending and mild arch appearance gradually transits to and mixes with the pure and fresh outdoor landscape. Inside the hall, a large-space column-free structure is adopted to ensure a complete sacrificial site, and the large-span steel structure is to minimize the impact of buildings on the cultural relics. Sustainable building design in consideration of cultural relics protection and ecological protection has created favorable conditions for archaeological excavation and preservation of cultural relics.


The Relics Hall houses the main part of excavation site of the large sacrifice venue in Jinsha Site, the only best preserved one of its kind in the Shang and Zhou Dynasties in China at present. Displayed as it was, the excavation site and the tree root relics have maintained the integrity and authentication of those historical relics while shocking every visitor coming for it. Here, visitors have a chance to see how grand the worshipping ceremony was 3,000 years ago and how archaeological excavation was performed on the site at a short distance.

 

The sacrificial area, located at the east part of the Site, with coverage of about 15,000 square meters, is a specified location for religious worship activities of ancient Shu kingdom along the river specially in the period of late Shang Dynasty to early Spring and Autumn Period (about 1200-650 B.C.). It is distributed along the south river bank. Probably, the ancient Shu people held sacrificial ceremony on the river bank, and then buried the ritual artifacts on the river rapids after the ceremony. Until early Spring and Autumn Period, within 500 years’ activities of burying, the river bank were fully filled. Meanwhile, with the shift of the political center, the holy land of Jinsha was gradually not used.


Until now, more than 60 sacrificial remains have been found in the Relics Hall and unearthed precious cultural relics over 6,000 pieces including gold wares, bronze articles, jade objects, stone, bone or horn implements, lacquered woods, as well as tons of elephant tusks, and a large amount of boar tusks, deer horns and earthenware.


According to those sites, it is concluded that the sacrifice in Jinsha was developed through three stages, between which, or in which, significant difference was formed in respect of objects.


The 1st stage was dominated by elephant tusks and stone implements, supplemented by some earthenware, lacquered woods and a small number of jade objects, which should belong to the 2nd or 3rd phase of Yinxu (around 1200 B.C.).


In the 2nd stage, while the elephant tusks were still in use massively, stone implements and lacquered woods were gradually replaced by jade objects, bronze articles and gold wares, which should belong to the 3rd or 4th phase of Yinxu and to the middle Western Zhou Dynasty (around 1100-850 B.C.).


In the 3rd stage, a sharp increase in boar tusks, deer horns, beautiful stones and earthenware, and a sharp decrease in jade objects, bronze articles and gold wares favored in the previous stage, were found. The period they belonged to should be the late Western Zhou Dynasty to the early Spring and Autumn Period (around 850 to 650 B.C.).


Sacrifice of Jinsha

In ancient times with low social productivity, ancestors were unable to explain some natural phenomenon, diseases and death. Instead, they created a “God” to take control of the world, and believed that more communication with him would be vital to the survival and development of the whole nation. For this cause, the systematical ritual and rites were formed, which was called Sacrifice, a way to communicate with the gods for worship and blessings.


From the large sacrifice venue at the Jinsha Site, we see the past continuous activities and their grandness again in ancient Shu. The way to hold a sacrifice and its contents differ from time to time, implying the complexity and diversification of the magic-religious cultural system in ancient Shu kingdom. For instance, the Sun and Immortal Bird Gold Ornament represents ancestors’ worship to the sun, the Toad to the moon, the jade objects like Bi, Zhang, Ge and Cong, to the whole world and mountains and rivers contained in it, while relics or patterns with elephant, deer horn, boar tusk, tiger, snake, turtle and bird reflect their love and respect to animals. Frequent sacrifices with rich objects have shown the high standing of religious ritual in social activities in ancient Shu, and manifested a religious style totally different from other ancient capital civilization in other areas in China due to its obvious regional features. It is also the only capital site in China where large amount of ivories, boar tusks and deer horns were excavated.

 


Introduction to Sites
Jinsha No.2 Ruin

Introduction: the plane surface of Feature No.2 is rectangular. It covers an area of 300 square meters. A piece of elephant tusk , thousands of wild boar tusks and deer horns, 100 pieces of beautiful stone wares, 43 pieces of jade wares, 14 pieces of bronze wares and some pieces of pottery wares were buried in the pit. Through analysis of these buried articles, it’s believed that they were particularly selected and used in sacrificial and religious activities.

Period: Early Spring and Autumn Period


Jinsha No.8 Ruin

Introduction: The plane surface is round in shape with an area of 2 square meters. Artifacts were divided into five layers. Vermilion was scattered over the whole pit. 345 artifacts were unearthed in this pit, including 45 gold wares,  93 bronze wares,194 jade wares, 7 stone wares, 3 elephant tusks and 3 pottery wares. At present, the gold mask is the largest and the best preserved one unearthed of the Late Shang and Western Zhou Dynasties in China.

Period: Late Shang Dynasty to Early Western Zhou Dynasty


Jinsha No.11 Ruin

Brief Introduction: The plane surface of Feature No.11 is irregular rectangle in shape. Sacrificial offerings are laid in two layers. The upper layer is dominated by 15 entire elephant tusks over 1.6m in length, and the length of the longest one is 1.85m, while ivories, lacquer wood wares, and stone wares are buried in the under layer, including 12 pieces of ivory wares, a piece of bean-shaped ivory, 11 pieces of ivory string of beadsa piece of molar of elephant, 2 pieces of elephant skulls, a piece of lacquer wood with jade setting, a piece of wooden tiger lacquer ware and a piece of stone spear.

Period: late Shang Dynasty


Jinsha No.18 Ruin

Brief Introduction: The plane surface of Feature No.18 is rectangular, which is made up of 9 wooden columns with the side length of 40 cm. The surface is about 22 square meters, of which the distance between columns is 1.9m from south to north, and 2.9m from east to west. It is presumed that the rectangular wood platform located here is 3000 years old. The wooden columns had been rotten, while the post holes still existed there.

Period: Early and Middle Western Zhou Dynasty


Jinsha No.1 Ruin

Introduction: The plane surface is rectangle in shape. It was destroyed partly when discovered. Artifacts were laid in layers. The upper layers were buried with elephant tusks, among which the longest one was 1.6 m. According to observation of the earth layers, there were altogether 8 layers of elephant tusks accumulated regularly. The lower layers deposited a lot of gold, jade and bronze wares. So far, this pit has the most concentrated burial offerings and the best regular shape at the sacrificial area of Jinsha site. In addition, these elephant tusks are reburied under the requirement of preservation.

Period: Late Shang Dynasty to Early Western Zhou Dynasty

遗迹馆
遗迹馆介绍

    遗迹馆呈半圆形,建筑面积7588平方米,高度19米,跨度63米。舒展平缓的弧形外观与室外清新纯净的景观环境逐渐过渡、融合,形成了连续的空间变化。馆内无立柱大空间的构造保证了祭祀遗迹的完整性,大跨度钢结构形式将建筑对文物本体的影响降到最低,可持续的建筑设计把文物保护与生态保护相结合,为考古发掘和文物保护工作创造了良好的条件。

    遗迹馆内是金沙遗址大型祭祀场所的发掘地,也是目前中国保存最为完整的商周时期的大型祭祀遗迹场所。原生态展示的发掘现场、大型树根遗迹等既保持了历史遗存本体的完整性与真实性,也为刚刚走进金沙遗址的观众带来了视觉上的震撼。在这里,观众一方面可以实地感受3000年前古蜀王国祭祀活动的宏大气派,另一方面又能身临其境,近距离观看考古发掘现场,了解考古发掘的工作原理。

    金沙遗址“祭祀区”位于遗址东部,是古蜀王国一处专用的滨河祭祀场所,分布面积约15000平方米,年代约当商代晚期至春秋早期(约公元前1200年-公元前650年)。它沿着古河道的南岸分布,古蜀人很可能最初是在河岸上进行祭祀,祭祀仪式结束之后将祭品埋在河滩上,上面用土进行敷盖。下次祭祀仪式之后又将祭品掩埋,经过长约500余年的祭祀活动,至春秋早期,河滩基本填平,同时,随着政治中心的转移,这块金沙人心中的圣地也逐渐荒芜。

    目前,这里已发现60余处祭祀遗存,出土金器、铜器、玉器、石器、骨角器、漆木器等珍贵文物6000余件,以及数以吨计的象牙和众多的野猪獠牙、鹿角、陶器等。

    从这些遗存来看,金沙人的祭祀活动大体可以分为三个不同的阶段,每个阶段,甚至同一个阶段里所使用的祭祀用品还有较大的差别。

    第一阶段的祭祀用品以象牙、石器为主,还有一些陶器、漆木器和极少量的玉器,时代约当殷墟二、三期(约公元前1200前后)。

    第二阶段大量使用玉器、铜器、金器作为祭品,第一阶段使用的象牙仍大量使用,但石器和漆木器则很少使用,时代约当殷墟三、四期之际至西周中期(约公元前1100年--前850年)。

    第三阶段大量使用野猪獠牙、鹿角、美石和陶器,前一阶段大量使用的玉器、铜器、金器象牙的数量骤减,时代约为西周晚期至春秋早期(约公元前850—前650年)。

金沙祭祀

    远古时代,社会生产力低下,对于一些自然现象、人类自身的生老病死,人类无从理解,因此他们相信“万物有灵”,神是这个世界的主宰,从而相信与神保持经常性的沟通与对话关系到民族的生存与发展,并逐步形成与神“对话”的系统化仪式。人们常举行各种祭祀活动,旨在与天地神灵沟通,希冀得其庇佑。

    金沙遗址发现的大型祭祀活动场所再现了古蜀国祭祀活动的频繁和宏大气派,其祭祀方法与祭祀内容因时而异,表明了古蜀王国神巫文化系统的复杂与多元性,如太阳神鸟金饰表达了对太阳的崇拜,蟾蜍金箔代表了月亮的祭拜,璧、璋、戈、琮等玉礼器表达了对天地四方和自然山川的敬仰,大象、鹿角、野猪獠牙、虎、蛇、龟、鸟等动物形象的文物或图案则表示对动物的喜爱和崇敬。其祭祀之频繁与祭品之丰富,体现出宗教祭仪在古蜀国社会活动中的崇高地位。其所表现出的浓厚宗教色彩与中国其他地区古代都城文明的风格完全不同,具有强烈的地域性特色。数量庞大的象牙、野猪獠牙、鹿角集中出土在祭祀区内,在中国古代都城遗址中也是唯一一处。


遗迹介绍
金沙遗址第11号遗迹

基本情况:平面形状呈不规则长方形,遗物分上下两层摆放,上层放置15根象牙,长度均在160厘米以上,其中一根长达185厘米,是金沙遗址目前出土最长的象牙。下层为象牙器、漆木器、石器等,计有象牙器12件、象牙串珠11件、象臼齿1件、象头骨2件、镶嵌玉片的漆器1件、木胎虎头漆器1件和石矛1件。



金沙遗址第18号遗迹

基本情况:平面形状呈长方形,由边长约40厘米的9根方柱构成。柱间距南北向约1.9米,东西向约2.9米,面积约22平方米。推测此遗迹原系一座长方形木结构祭台。因历时久远,木柱已腐烂,现仅余柱洞。



金沙遗址第8号遗迹

基本情况:平面呈圆形,面积约2平方米,坑内填土中伴有大量朱砂,遗物分五层摆放。出土文物共345件,其中金器45件、铜器93件,玉器194件、石器7件、象牙残器3件、陶器3件。金面具是目前在中国发现的同时期保存最完整、体量最大的金面具。

 



金沙遗址第2号遗迹

堆积情况:平面形状大致呈长条状,面积300平方米。出土文物计有象牙1根、野猪獠牙上千枚、鹿角上千根、美石100余件、玉器43件、铜器14件以及一些陶器。从出土器物分析,埋藏品应属有意挑选,特别是数量巨大的野猪獠牙和鹿角,令人叹为观止。这是一处宗教祭祀遗迹。

金沙遗址第1号遗迹

基本情况:平面呈长方形,发现时部分遭破坏。坑内器物分层摆放,上层堆积象牙,最长者近160厘米,从断面观察,象牙多达8层,放置极有规律。下层放置大量玉器、铜器和金器等。一号坑是金沙遗址祭祀区目前为止发现的形状最规整、埋藏文物最集中的祭祀遗存。因保护象牙的需要,现已采取回填措施。